Almond Blueberry Muffins

Gluten-Free Almond Blueberry Muffins

All hail the autumn season!  Perhaps it’s my Seattleite nature that makes me crave the crisp outdoor air and snuggle-worthy weather.  Or maybe it’s my foodie personality that draws me to the season of apples and pumpkins and the greatest food holiday, Thanksgiving.  Whatever it may be, my soul always becomes infinitely happier when autumn rolls around.  But even in the midst of my favorite season, there are moments when I miss aspects of summer—like the perfect summer blueberry.  In moments like these, I’m happy I had the foresight to save some seasonal berries in the freezer.  Now the only question is, what type of blueberry delight do I make?

Gluten-Free Almond Blueberry Muffins

Strangely, I have never been a huge fan blueberry desserts.  Sure, I’ll gobble up fresh blueberries by the pint, but I’ll generally pass on the blueberry pie, and even a warm blueberry cobbler won’t do it for me.  But there’s something about a classic blueberry-speckled muffin that I enjoy.  And clearly I’m not alone, for I’ve received multiple blueberry muffin requests from my loyal test tasters.  And when the masses demand, you must deliver!  With a little twist on the tradition, of course.

Gluten-Free Almond Blueberry Muffins

Despite my multiple years of gluten-free baking, I have not ventured much into the realm of almond flour.  Almonds, however, are great baking ingredients.  They can produce a deliciously moist texture and even provide a hint of vanilla-sweet taste.  Not to mention almonds are powerhouse nuts—of all the tree nuts, they have the highest level of protein, fiber, and calcium (not to mention a host of other great nutrients).  Yet there are also some challenges in baking with almonds.  Almond flour requires quite a bit of binding; I went through 4 batches of soggy-bottomed muffins before I realized the magic ratio of 2 eggs for every cup of almond flour.  But the many trials were well worth it!  These Almond Blueberry Muffins are the perfect treat if you’re missing the summer berry harvest.  They have a soft texture, but still hold their form.  They’re sweet even though they contain a relatively little amount of sugar, and, most important of all, each bite has a juicy burst of blueberry.  So even in the middle of autumn, you can still have a little bit of summertime enjoyment.

Almond Blueberry Muffins
Yield: 6 muffins

1 cup almond flour
¼ cup sugar
½ teaspoon baking powder
¼ teaspoon baking soda
¼ teaspoon salt
2 eggs, whisked
½ teaspoon vanilla
½ cup frozen blueberries
Sliced almonds, for garnish

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Lightly grease or line a 6-cup muffin tin with cupcake liners.

In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together almond flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Mix in eggs and vanilla, whisking until fully incorporated.  Fold in frozen blueberries.

Divide batter among 6 muffin cups and garnish tops with sliced almonds.  Bake for 18-20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in center of muffin comes out clean.  Remove tin from oven and let cool 10 minutes before flipping muffins out onto a cooling rack to cool completely.

NUTRITION INFORMATION
Amount per serving: 1 muffin
Calories: 169 calories
Total Fat: 11 grams
Carbohydrate: 15 grams
Fiber: 2 grams
Protein: 6 grams
Sodium: 223 mg

2 thoughts on “Almond Blueberry Muffins

  1. Pingback: Almond Blueberry Muffins | Cakes 'n' Bakes » webindex24.ch - News aus dem Web

Leave a Reply

